Feeling is a thing that happens

Feeling is a thing that happens in 1000th of a second:

A Season of Cricket Photographer Patrick Eagar

Christian Ryan

With photographs by Patrick Egar

19th October 2017 |Hardback | £20.00 | Ebook

A season of cricket focusing on photographs by the most significant all-time figure in cricket words and pictures, photographer Patrick Eagar

In 1975 Patrick Eagar took some photographs which were unlike any cricket photographs anyone had seen before.

It was a year when two of the most powerful sides toured England to compete for the first ever World Cup. They were the legendary Australian side that featured the lethal fast bowlers Lillee and Thomson as well as the Chappell brothers, Marsh and Walters. The other visitor was the emerging superpower of the West Indies, captained by Clive Lloyd and included the young Andy Roberts and Viv Richards. From this raw material Eagar found something which is almost magical. As the Guardian celebrated at the time, he ‘renders cricket a service as no one else in his field has ever done before’.

His pictures show that, ‘feeling is the thing that happens in 1000th of a second.’ So this is a cricket book about photography and what it can do – tell the future and show human beings in ways not available to our eyes. It is part detective story (and reconstruction of one of the great summers of cricket), part biography and part essay on the power of the image, myth and reality. 

  • Includes 50 black-and-white and 20 colour photographs by Patrick Eager – one of the world’s most famous and celebrated cricket photographers – and other great photographers eg Neil Leifer
  • Christian Ryan is a critically acclaimed sports writer and was awarded the UK Cricket Book of the Year in 2010 for Golden Boy
  • In the tradition of Gideon Haigh’s Stroke of Genius and Duncan Hamilton’s A Last English Summer

About the author

Christian Ryan is one of the most stylish and intelligent of writers on the sport today. He was awarded UK Cricket Book of the Year in 2010 for Golden Boy, his book on Kim Hughes’s tempestuous period as Captain of the Australian Cricket team.

No comments yet Categories: News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *